Kingston Historical Society
P.O. Box 54
Kingston, Ontario

Donate Now Through!

Copyright (c)
Kingston Historical Society
murney-drwg_5399.jpgKingston Historical Society, est. 1893

This site is no longer maintained.  Please go to:

Welcome to the Kingston Historical Society

The Kingston Historical Society (KHS) is an active group working to create, foster and maintain interest in the history and heritage of the City of Kingston and its environs. We do this in many ways, including monthly meetings with guest speakers, a monthly newsletter (Limelight), a yearly journal (Historic Kingston), and by operating the Murney Tower National Historic Site as a museum. Please take a moment to explore our website for more information, interesting facts and pictures.

The objects of the Society are:

  • To create, foster and maintain interest in the history and heritage of the City of Kingston and its environs;
  • To provide a forum for the presentation and discussion of papers with relevant historical content and to provide for the publication of such papers;
  • To organize, supervise, manage, promote and assist in providing and maintaining historical museums, plaques, cairns, and other monuments to the historical past;
  • To acquire documents, maps, books, photographs and other historical data and tangible articles of historic interest with a view to the preservation and display as such articles at such times and in such places as may be decided upon by the Society; and
  • To be an advocate for the preservation of buildings and areas of historic interest in the City of Kingston and district.

  • A new Executive for 2015 was elected at the Annual General Meeting held February 18th. 

         President:  Peter Gower
         Vice-President:  Corinne Harrison
         Secretary:  Don Richardson
         Treasurer:  Peter Ginn
         Past President:  Gordon Sinclair

         Councillors:  Betty Andrews, Joe Brites, Nancy Day, Ben Holthof, Anne Richardson, Paul Van Nest, John Whiteley

         Appointed:  Director Murney Tower-Graeme Watson; Editor Historic Kingston-Marcus Letourneau; Editor Limelight-Corinne Harrison

    Annual Sir John A. Macdonald Dinner -- 200th Anniversary

    The Annual Sir John A. Macdonald Dinner was held this year at the Senior Staff Mess at the Royal Military College on Saturday, January 10th, 2015. This dinner was SOLD OUT in record time as it was the 200th Anniversary of the birth of our first Prime Minister.  It was a splendid evening of fine dining, period music, historical pageantry and food for thought. Our special guest speaker was the Honourable Mr. Justice Thomas Cromwell of the Supreme Court of Canada, a former lawyer and resident of Kingston. Check back to see photos of the event.

    Saturday, June 6th COMMEMORATION SERVICE of the Death of Sir John A. Macdonald

    The Kingston Historical Society remembered Sir John A. Macdonald on Saturday, 6 June, 2015, with an event that combined commemoration, pageantry, history and conviviality in a special outdoor setting. Participants congregated at 1:30 p.m. in Kingston’s Cataraqui Cemetery to remember Canada’s first Prime Minister, Sir John Alexander Macdonald, who died on this day in 1891.

    This annual commemorative ceremony featured members of the Fort Henry Guard, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Bellevue House Staff in period dress, as well as many dignitaries and representatives of local organizations who laid wreathes at the grave.

    This year our guest speaker was Honourable Robert Keith (Bob) Rae, OC, O.Ont.

    Before and after the ceremony, all visitors were welcome to tour the historic and picturesque Cataraqui Cemetery which is a National Historic Site. (972 Purdy Mills Road off Counter Street). Refreshments were served in the outdoors chapel following the service.

    Upcoming Events

    Please click on the event for more details.

    2014 Executive & Council

    President Peter Gower
    Past President Gordon Sinclair
    Vice President Corinne Harrison
    Secretary Don Richardson
    Treasurer Randall Levi
    Elected Councillors Nancy Day
    Warren Everett
    Peter Ginn
    Ben Holthof
    Alan MacLachlan
    Ron Ridley
    Paul Van Nest
    John Whiteley
    Appointed Councillors Nancy Day
    Warren Everett
    Peter Ginn
    Ben Holthof
    Alan MacLachlan
    Ron Ridley
    Paul Van Nest
    John Whiteley
    Editor, Historic Kingston Duncan McDowall (2014) & Marcus Letourneau (2015)
    Editor, Limelight Eva Barnes
    Chair, Murney Tower Committee Graeme Watson